Charming – Another Crochet Adventure

Beautiful Fall BlanketEvery three years in the summer my entire family gets together for a family reunion. With over 100 people attending each event we have many traditions that I have learned to look forward to. One of my favorite is Bingo night. This July was one of those reunions and in preparation for Bingo night I was going to make a blanket to add to the prize pile. It was during this adventure that I ended up with my arm in a brace and fighting my own body to do any crochet at all. Needless to say, it is now November and I missed my target date by a large window. Bingo night came and went without my blanket as it sat on the shelf reminding me of how annoying personal injuries are.

I’m slowly rebuilding my strength and I told myself “No new projects until I finish at least one WIP”. This is the one I chose and I am glad that I picked it back up. This pattern was called “Charming” and I found it in my Leisure Arts “Afghan Lover’s Collection”. The pattern is worked in 7 strips each worked in the round meaning you start at the center of the strip and grow the pattern outwards like a large oval. Piecing them together was interesting and I admit the first one I put together had me grinning at the unique process. You create the strip border around the entire first piece. The next one you do half the border and then join the pieces together while creating the border by doing one stitch on the new strip and one stitch on the old strip. I gives you a criss-crossing diamond effect in between each strip and looking like the pieces were attached from the beginning.

CloseupIf I made this blanket again I would probably not work the popcorn stitches into it. I love the intricacies of the design and how elegant the finished product is but I think the popcorn stitch (the dots all over the blanket) take a little away from that. I used seven skeins of Red Heart Super Saver (yep, I splurged on this one…) since I used one skein per strip to avoid having joins in my strips. You could probably work this in 5-6 skeins if you do not use that strategy. All in all, this is a good project to work to learn some new techniques and the variety of stitches made it fun. The fact that this is worked in strips made it very easy to take as an in-the-purse project. The pattern was well written and easy to follow and I would recommend it to others. If you love making blankets like I do then I highly recommend the Afghan Lover’s Collection. I haven’t been disappointed by any of the blankets from it yet.

Check this out on my Ravelry page for more details and additional pictures of the finished product.

Comments
2 Responses to “Charming – Another Crochet Adventure”
  1. RobotDancing says:

    I love this! I love the light shining through it in the photographs, it really shows up the stitch pattern. You should be super-proud! 🙂

Leave a Reply

