A Quilt fit for a King – From FrankenQuilt to Love

When we last left off I had just chosen the fabric for my new quilt and had so very patiently washed and dried it in advance. It was neatly folded and, while still wrinkly, waited patiently for me to make the next move. Days later I had spent hours ironing, cutting, ironing and cutting some more. My original plan had been to cut just enough of each fabric to make my first few squares but as I fell into the rhythm of the process I realized that I would not be someone who could easily come back to this step and if I did not power through it all at the beginning I would probably never finish my quilt.

Pre-cut Fabric

Self acceptance. While I understand how devastating it may be for you to realize that I actually have flaws and they are actually real. I hate cutting fabric. I get distracted and make cuts in the wrong place. I get lazy and make uneven lines. I get bored and walk away, making the agonizingly long process even longer. There, I said it. Now everyone knows and can judge me accordingly. The benefit of self acceptance is that I can use that to my advantage. I decided that I had to cut all of the my fabric up front while I was still excited about finishing. Don’t look at me that way. You all know the feeling. You start on something new and it is shiny and full of potential. You don’t think about all the late nights, the sore back, the crossed eyes and the shear perseverance that will be required. You think only of that perfect completed object that, when you unveil it to the world, will cause the ground to shake with its beautiful uniqueness.

Fast forward two weeks and you are now where I am. After spending a solid week sneaking in an hour of cutting every chance I could between races, work and our biggest convention of the year I managed to cut that final strip and fold the remnants of all three colors with a feeling of accomplishment. I hadn’t pieced a single square yet, but I could see it coming together. I had cut all of the 4 7/8″ squares that would become my triangles. I had cut the strips of 2 1/2″ rectangles and sewed them all together with their complementary strip of another color. Progress was mine!

IMG_7458

Empowered by how easy it was to get all of my cutting done I spent the better part of last Saturday piecing my blocks together. With everything pre-cut time flew by! Before I knew it I had completed 6 blocks, had them sewn together in a strip (the width of my quilt) and had 6 more blocks ready to be sewn together in a second strip.

Here is the part where I admit the awful truth. I loved the block. A single block, it looked great. It had potential to be something beautiful. After placing two blocks together I was looking at this monstrosity wondering what I had just done. This was not a quilt fit for a king, it was FrankenQuilt. This was going to be embarrassing. The fabrics which I had so painstakingly picked out were looking more like a flashback to the 90’s then a quilt I would want in my bedroom. Nothing really seemed to pop out and it was proving to be a disaster. CraftingChrissy and I looked at this and said more or less that it looked good, it would look great when it was all done. We both lied to each other through gritted teeth covered up with an optimistic tone. No one would admit defeat this early in the stage. I kept going and as I lined up more pieces the pattern really started to take shape. It is still a vibrant quilt. The blues and the greens pop very clearly against the grey background but the colors start to get lost in the pattern. After placing the first row my concerns had been thrown aside and I started to breathe again. This is going to work out and it will look great, that isn’t just me lying to myself through gritted teeth this time!

Lesson learned? Don’t judge a quilt before it is even born, it looks much different as it starts to grow up. Have you ever had an experience like that? Please tell me that I am not alone, that this is completely normal so early on!

Leave a Reply

