Scrabble me this

It may only be the beginning of October but if you plan on crafting your gifts this year the holiday season is probably in full swing. I feel that more and more the holidays are becoming commercialized and gifting is more about buying the shiniest thing that advertisers tell you people want instead of doing something meaningful. This year I encourage everyone to take some time and think about how to bring some meaning back into the holidays.

My Grandma loves to play Scrabble. I grew up going to her house every Sunday, watching her, my aunts, uncles and friends of the family play heated Scrabble battles. I remember the day I was old enough to play for the first time, I had finally been admitted to the inner circle. Being only 9 at the time I was allowed to use 3 letter words and use the dictionary to “help” if I needed it. These are things strictly denied in Scrabble at my Grandma’s house. While the games could be cutthroat we never played that misspelling a word would forfeit your turn. Even so, if you want to look it up to ensure that it was valid or spelled correctly someone else needed to do that for you. How else do you ensure that someone isn’t just fishing for words that use the letters on their tray!

Fast forward a few years and I was no longer allowed to use these handicaps I was given as a child. By the time I was 13 I was no longer a kid, I was an almost-adult. I was competing against two generations who had many more years of education and experience without any special rules (except that when I got stuck others would help me find my words). My vocabulary grew exponentially and soon I was a viable opponent, not just another seat at the table. I miss those games and every time I am back in Minnesota I try to sneak over for a refresher course, now and then I even pull out a win. In my family Scrabble is not just another game, it is a tradition.

Embossed tilesWhat does this have to do with the holidays? I was perusing my boards on Pinterest and saw something I had pinned several months back, art work made of a Scrabble board. I wanted to give my Grandma something special this year that combines two very special things; Scrabble and family. I pulled out my old Scrabble board that has lost a few letters over the years and spent several hours figuring out how to fit the names of all the grandchildren on the board with the letters I had. I used the word Grandma as the starting word on the board and legally placed the names of all ten grandchildren starting from that point. When I was done I thought that it wasn’t very clear what I was trying to get across so I used silver embossing powder to make the word GRANDMA stand out.

For now I have attached the letters with double-sided tape and when I refresh my stash of Modge Podge I will seal everything to the board. I will also be keeping an eye on the coupons for Michael’s and JoAnns framing departments to get a good deal on a custom frame so this can be hung up on the wall. At this point my total cost was $0 since I had all of the supplies. I expect the framing will cost about $50 after coupons unless I set this in a generic shadow box. I can’t wait for the holidays to be here so that I can share this special gift. I hope that others enjoy it as much as I do!

Do you have any great holiday gifts in the works already? Share some ideas in a comment, someone else may find it speaks to them as that perfect gift this year.

Comments
4 Responses to “Scrabble me this”
  1. Cyndi says:

    Ahhh! Yes! I saw something similar on pinterest and want to make it for my mom for christmas. great minds… 😉 and now i know how to do it!

  2. Sarah says:

    My grandma is also an avid Scrabbler and taught all of her grandchildren to be the same! Have you considered mounting/gluing the Scrabble board on MDF or something similar? It might look just as good and be a whole lot cheaper.

    • EverydayPam says:

      That’s a good suggestion. I like the idea of having it behind glass but that is expensive and mounting it on MDF or another material could give it a different kind of polished look. I will definitely toy with that idea.

Leave a Reply

