Making My Case

I have been doing crochet for about two years now. In that time I have invested in all sorts of crochet needles for different projects.

Since hooks can be put anywhere the case can always hold that one you just couldn't say no to.

Since hooks can be put anywhere the case can always hold that one you just couldn’t say no to.

Small ones, big ones, metal ones, wooden ones…and then those pesky duplicates because I can’t remember where I stashed the one I need last time I needed it. On my last trip to New York I was facing this same old struggle when I decided to fix it once and for all! I was going to make a case to hold my needles. All I needed was some stash yarn, a hook and some free time.

I took to the internet to stoke my inspiration. No surprise, many people who knit and crochet have thought to use those skills to make a low cost accessory to their craft. So many different options. I saw cases that fold up like envelopes, ones that open like tablets and ones that roll like mats. There were cases that used pockets to keep hooks in place and ones that used straps to accomplish the same feat. I took most of my inspiration from a great site called the Crochet Spot (http://www.crochetspot.com/free-crochet-pattern-crochet-hook-case/).

I loved the shell pattern used to create the look of the case and I was smitten with the idea of a roll-up case. The beauty of this pattern was the ability of expand the rectangle as tall or as wide as you need to fit your unique stash of supplies. I made my case approximately 20″ x 9″. After I was done and I had put all of my stuff in it I would think about making it even longer next time.

Because the shells are a wide stitch the case can hold other useful tools like scissors.

Because the shells are a wide stitch the case can hold other useful tools like scissors.

I also varied from the original by not adding the pockets to hold the hooks. I’ll admit this was partly out of laziness, less work if I don’t have to make pockets! However, that was not my only reason for the decision. The pockets create a set number of places to put your supplies. As your tools change the case may not be able to adapt to your growing needs. In this pattern I opted to leverage the spacing of the shells to just slip the hooks directly into the case so it can expand to anything I need. Down the road I may choose to add a few well placed pockets to hold small things like yarn needles and smaller scissors.

The original pattern did not use a border and I, personally, am addicted to borders. I think that most patterns just aren’t complete without one! Since the shells have a lot of personality I wanted a simple border and settled on a quick pattern of ch5 stitches evenly placed around the edges.

The case can be rolled round like a tube or flat like a clutch to accommodate everything inside.

The case can be rolled round like a tube or flat like a clutch to accommodate everything inside.

As for the closure, I liked that the original pattern had ties which allowed the case to expand or shrink depending on what was inside it. I chose to make a variation of this. Instead of the two strings used as a closure I added a flower to serve as a button. I attached the flower with the starting tail making sure that it had a stem I could wrap a string around. I then added a single string of chains embellished with three flowers at the end. I also found a very cute pattern for a leaf and just couldn’t say no to adding it. The leaf serves absolutely no purpose in this pattern other than looking good. If you want to add it to your designs you can find it here – http://crochethealingandraymond.wordpress.com/2011/01/04/a-crochet-leaf/.

When you are ready to close it up just wrap the string around the case and secure it around the flower button. The embellished flowers at the end of the chain prevent the string from unwinding before you want it to.

I’m very happy with the way this case turned out. It is a cute way to keep things organized and it will hopefully cut down the number of duplicate needles I need to invest in!

Leave a Reply

